Home | Heritage
| Fam Histories - Mom's | Surnames
| Other Stuff | What's
New | E Mail |
Extracts from the History of New
Involving Allyn, Backus, Geer, Knight, Read,
All Neighbors, and all our Ancestors, or Cousins
Pg 70, "In March, 1651, the principal body of these eastern immigrants
(** of Blynman's party **) arrived; in addition to those named...... With
them also came ROBERT ALLYN, from Salem...."
Pg 71, "Early in 1651, New Street, in the rear of the town plot,
was opened for accomodation of the Cape Ann Company..... It was carved
into house-lots and took the name of Cape Ann Lane. The lots on this street
were nine in number, of six acres each.... Beginning at the lower end,
Hugh Calkins had the first lot by the Lyme Road.... and next to him
was.. Hugh Roberts; then Coite, Lester, Avery, ALLYN,
Meades, Hough, Isbell."
Pg 96, "Aaron STARKE and John Fish
were said to be of Mystic, in 1655...
Pg 97, "Proceeding up the river to that division of the township
which is now Ledyard, we find a series of farms laid out on the northern
boundary, adjoining Brewster's land, early in 1653, to ALLYN...
and others, which were called the Pocketannock Grants. Some of these were
found to be beyond the town limits. Robert ALLYN
and John Gager removed to this quarter about 1656. The country in the rear
of these hardy pioneers was desolate and wild in the extreme..... ALLYN
and Gager were so far removed from the town plot as to be scarcely able
to take part in its concerns, or share in its priviliges. The General Court
, at their May session in 1658, considerately released them from their
fines for not attending the town training. They appear, however, still
to have attended the Sabbath meeting, probably coming down the river in
canoes. George GEER married a daughter of Robert ALLYN,
and settled in the neighborhood. A grant to Mr. Winthrop, May 6th, 1656,
would probably fall within the present bounds of Ledyard."
"Pg 142, "The swamps around New London were infested to an unusual
degree with these perilous animals (** wolves **). After 1667, the bounty
was sixteen shillings... In 1673, this bounty was claimed by .... Aaron
STARKE, two; making nineteen howling tenants
of the forest destroyed within the limits of the town that year. The havoc
made by wild beasts was a great drawback on the wool-growing interest which
was then of more importance to the farmers than at the present day (**
Pg 154, "The removals before 1670 of persons who had lived from
five to eighteen years in the plantation amounted to a dozen or more....
the settlement of Norwich took away Robert ALLYN
Pg 240, "Most of the young men, earlier or later, made a few voyages
to sea, and many a promising son of a good family was cut off untimely
by a storm, or wreck, or West India fever."
Pg 261, "(in a description of property being added to New London)...
"thence upon a direct line to an oak tree marked and standing near the
dwelling house of Thomas ROSE."
Pg 265, "(in a list of... apparently settlers..).. SEABURY,
John; east of the river, before 1700.
Pg 354, "Zacharia Maynard, or Mayner, purchased a farm in 1697,
near Robert ALLYN and Thomas ROSE,
(in Ledyard). His wife was a daughter of Robert Geer."
Pg 356, "Jacob HOLLOWAY, died Nov 9th,
1711. He appears in the plantation a little before 1700. Left a son, John,
and daughters, Rose and Ann. His wife died four days after the decease
of her husband." (Note: Don't know how or if this fellow ties into our
William Holloway and his daughters Grace and Hannah. He could be of vintage
to be a brother... **)
Pg 371, (In a sketch of Sarah Knight, of the Knight Journal fame)..
"John Knight (Mrs. Knight's husband) is not the ancestor of the KNIGHT
family afterward found at the West Farms, in Norwich, which originated
with David KNIGHT who married Sarah BACKUS,
in 1692, had sons and daughters, and died in 1744."
Pg 373, "George GEER, died in 1727.
The Isbell farm bought by George Geer Oct 31, 1665, was bounded north by
the line between New London and Norwich, (now Ledyard and Preston). George
Geer married Sarah, daughter of Robert ALLYN,
Feb 17th, 1658/9. They had six sons and as many daughters. Capt. Robert
Geer was one of the leading inhabitants of North Groton during the first
half of the eighteenth century, and his mill was one of the three places
where all warnings were to be posted."
Pg 419, "Groton being a large town.... the northern part, by permission
of the legislature, withdrew and organized a second ecclasiastical society.
The first recorded meeting of this society was held at the house of Capt.
John Morgan, Jan 3rd, 1726/6. The first preacher to this society was Mr.
Samuel SEABURY, then a young man just assuming
the sacred office. He was not ordained or settled, and remained with them
only ten weeks; having preached four Sabbaths at Capt. John Morgan's, four
at William Morgan's, and two at Ralph Stoddard's. At the expiration of
his term or soon afterward, he declared himself a convert to the doctrines
of the Church of England and crossed the ocean to obtain Episcopal ordination.
He returned to this country commissioned as a resident missionary to the
Episcopal church in New London. Mr. SEABURY
was a native of Groton, born July 8th, 1706. ...... Several
preachers succeeded Mr. SEABURY; each engaged
but for a limited time. No minister was settled until 1729." (Note: This
Samuel, first Episcopal bishop of America is a cousin ours. See a sketch
on Samuel Seabury.)
Pg 420, "... Until the house (of worship of North Groton) should
be finished, the preaching places designated were the houses of ... Robert
ALLYN... (** Note: Our ancestor, Robert Allyn,
had died some years earlier. The author is most likely referring to the
Robert Allyn "place" in which his son, John Allyn was living, unless she
is referring to a grandson. **)
Pg 663, "The New London Aqueduct Company obtained a charter in May,
1800. Capital $4,000; increased in 1802 to $20,000. The earliest proprietors
were .... Robert ALLYN (** Possibly a descendant
of the original Robert **).... This company entered with zeal into the
project of supplying the whole city with water, and threaded all the principal
streets with subterranean logs and pipes. The spring which afforded the
supply of water is situated a little north of the town limits, on the west
side of the road to Norwich. The undertaking was not sufficiently patronized
to render it remunerative and after the trial of about a quarter of a century,
it was abandoned."
Source: "History of New London, Connecticut", by Frances Manwaring
Return to the Allyn Index
| Top of Page | Home
| Heritage | Fam
Histories - Mom's | Surnames
| Other Stuff | What's
New | E Mail |
The quoted material is in the public domain, otherwise:
Copyright 1998 Norris Taylor